Male reproductive system

  • The male reproductive system consists of the penis and testes (testicles).

  • Tiny sperm cells are produced inside the testes.

  • Sperm cells travel out of the testes through the sperm duct.


Female reproductive system

  • The female reproductive system consists of the ovaries, fallopian tubes, womb and vagina.

  • Ovaries release one egg cell every 28 days (approximately).

  • The eggs travel down the fallopian tube to the womb. 


  • Heredity is the passing on of characteristics from parents to young.

  • The nucleus in our cells contain hereditary information that determines our characteristics (traits), e.g. colour of our eyes or skin.

What happens during fertilisation?

Female Reproductive System Ovary 2 ssonline.jpg


Take this quiz to recap what you have learnt. Aim to reach the moon!